Small Claims Court cases for Van Zandt are heard in 4 LOCATIONS throughout Van Zandt County.
Types of Small Claims Cases
Most cases for the recovery of money can be heard in small claims court. From a security deposit on a rental to a motor vehicle accident. Under Texas law, collections cases and claim assignments cannot be heard in small claims court.
How are trials conducted?
Unlike regular civil trials, small claims court rules do not follow the Rules of Evidence. There are no rules of evidence. Furthermore, the judge is allowed and often ask questions of witnesses and parties to help understand the facts of a case. Trials generally are pretty short (15-20 minutes). However, if a party wishes for a jury trial, it will likely last a few hours.
Judges for Small Claims Court Cases in Van Zandt County
A Justice of the Peace for Van Zandt County hears small claims court cases for Van Zandt County.
Limit (or Jurisdiction) of Small Claims Court
A plaintiff cannot demand more than $10,000 in their action. (Texas Government Code 28.093). Additionally, a small claims court plaintiff can only ask the court for monetary relief. You are unable to seek injunctive or equitable relief. Say your landscaper breaks a sprinkler head. You can ask the court for money to replace the sprinkler head, but you cannot ask the court for an order requiring the landscaper to physically replace the sprinkler head. This would be called injunctive relief.
Van Zandt County Court Clerk
The clerk is often the first person small claims court litigants interact with in their case. The clerk is knowledgeable at all of the procedures and will be able to inform you of any specific local procedures for Van Zandt County. We recommend calling the clerk’s office to ensure the courthouse is open. While the clerk can help you with procedural issues, the clerk is not able to give legal advice. They will direct you to an attorney if answering your question would require that.
Small Claims Court Venue
You should file your action in the County and specific Precinct where the defendants reside or where the defendant has contracted to perform. (Government Code Section 28.011).
Can I appeal my case?
Appeals are allowed if the amount of the award exceeds $250.00.
Do I need to hire an Attorney?
In Texas, small claims parties generally represent themselves without an attorney. The reasoning behind this is because the amount is $10,000 or less, hiring an attorney becomes cost prohibitive. You are not required to have an attorney, but you are allowed one. (Government Code 28.003).
Van Zandt County Court Locations
The precinct map for Van Zandt County can be found here.
Precinct 1 Place 1 Courthouse in the City of Grand Saline
This courthouse is located at:P O Box 189 Grand Saline, TX 75140-0189
Precinct 2 Place 1 Courthouse in the City of Canton
This courthouse is located at:P O Box 9 Canton, TX 75103
Precinct 3 Place 1 Courthouse in the City of Wills Point
This courthouse is located at:P O Box 648 Wills Point, TX 75169
Precinct 4 Place 1 Courthouse in the City of Ben Wheeler
This courthouse is located at:P O Box 499 Ben Wheeler, TX 75754