Robertson County Small Claims Court, Texas

Judges for Small Claims Court Cases in Robertson County

Small claims cases in Robertson County are heard in front of the justice of the peace for Robertson County.

Can I appeal my case?

Appeals are allowed if the amount of the award exceeds $250.00.

Do I need to hire an Attorney?

Small claims court litigants in Texas normally represent themselves without an attorney. This is because cases involving $10,000 or less usually do not justify the cost of an attorney. However, you are allowed to retain one if you choose.

Can I file my small claims case in Robertson County?

The action is generally filed in the County and Precinct where the defendants reside (where they live) or where location where the Defendants contracted themselves to perform. (Texas Government Code Section 28.011).

Robertson County Court Clerk

The clerk is often the first person small claims court litigants interact with in their case. The clerk is knowledgeable at all of the procedures and will be able to inform you of any specific local procedures for Robertson County. We recommend calling the clerk’s office to ensure the courthouse is open. Also, while the clerk can answer questions about procedures, the clerk cannot give legal advice.

What is the trial like?

Small claims court trials are very informal compared to a regular civil trial. There are no rules of evidence. Additionally, the judge is allowed to ask questions of the parties and witnesses, and generally takes a more proactive role in determining the facts of a case. Trials generally are pretty short (15-20 minutes). If a jury trial is required, the trial could last a few hours.

Can I file my case in small claims court?

You cannot demand or ask for more than $10,000 in a small claims court case. (Government Code 28.093). Another restriction of small claims court is that a plaintiff can only seek monetary relief (an award of money). You cannot seek injunctive relief. For example, you could sue a dry cleaner for ruining your clothes and ask for money to replace the clothes, but you cannot ask the judge for an order for the dry cleaner to repair your clothes. You could only ask the court for an award of money.

Types of Cases

Small claims courts handle a wide variety of cases. From a security deposit on a rental to a motor vehicle accident. Under Texas law, collections cases and claim assignments cannot be heard in small claims court. Robertson County Small Claims Court cases are heard in 4 courthouses in Robertson County.

Robertson County Small Claims Court

Robertson County Small Claims Court

Robertson County Court Locations

Precinct 1 Courthouse in the City of Calvert

This courthouse is located at:

P O Box 308
Calvert, TX 77837

This courthouse handles cases for Precinct 1. The court’s website can be found here. The phone number for the court is (979)364-2750. And you can email the court by clicking here.

Precinct 2 Place 1 Courthouse in the City of Hearne

This courthouse is located at:

P O Box 282
Hearne, TX 77859

This courthouse handles cases for Precinct 2 Place 1. The court’s website can be found here. The phone number for the court is (979)279-2301. And you can email the court by clicking here.

Precinct 3 Place 1 Courthouse in the City of Franklin

This courthouse is located at:

P O Box 432
Franklin, TX 77856

This courthouse handles cases for Precinct 3 Place 1. The court’s website can be found here. The phone number for the court is (979)828-3929. And you can email the court by clicking here.

Precinct 4 Place 1 Courthouse in the City of Bremond

This courthouse is located at:

P O Box J
Bremond, TX 76629

This courthouse handles cases for Precinct 4 Place 1. The court’s website can be found here. The phone number for the court is (254)746-7836. And you can email the court by clicking here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *